Zen Nippon Iaido Renmei - All Japan Iaido Federation

The All Japan Iaido Federation (ZNIR, Zen Nihon Iaido Renmei, founded 1948) is an organization for the promotion of koryu from the five major iai styles (Muso Jikiden Eishin-ryu, Mugai-ryu, Shindo Munen-ryu, Suio-ryu and Hoki-ryu). ZNIR itself does not oversee any ryu-ha, and has done a great deal of work to promote iai-jutsu and iaido. It has a standard set of koryu techniques called 'Toho' which encompasses waza from the five different styles. The set of five Toho waza is what binds various koryu in the ZNIR together. ZNIR Toho is used to measure one's mastery of iai and has it's own well established grading system. There are Renmei grades from 1st to 10th dan. Above the 10th dan there is the grade of 'Meijin', which only one person can hold at any time. Only when the previous master is dead, can this grade be bestowed on the next.

Toho Waza Iai School
Ippon Me Maegiri
Nihon Me Zengogiri
Sanbon Me Kiriage
Yonhon Me Shihogiri
Gogon Me Kissakigaeshi
Muso Jikiden Eishin-ryu
Shindo Munen-ryu

Click here for Toho Waza Video's